User Accounts
Provision and manage user accounts, assign profiles and permissions.
Overview
User accounts represent the individuals authorized to access the solution. Each user account is assigned specific profiles, permissions, and user groups to define their access.
You can manage user accounts directly in the Users room or through Visier's public APIs. For more information, see Users API. For additional authentication and access controls, such as single sign-on or restricting network access, see Set Up Single Sign-On and Set Up Network Access.
Note:
The Users room
The Users room is where you view and manage user accounts.
You can access the room from either the Global Workspace or in a project. From the list, you can select an individual to view their account. However, the actions you can take depend on the area you're in.
-
Global workspace: Create, edit, and delete user accounts, assign profiles, update user details, and reset passwords.
-
In a project: Assign permissions that must be reviewed and published through the project lifecycle. For more information, see Use Projects for Version Control.
Tip: You can also use Visier APIs to assign permissions without using the project lifecycle. For more information, see Non-Versioned Security.
Note: You may see obscured usernames at the end of the Users list. These represent Visier Support users who have access to your data.
To access the Users room, do one of the following:
-
In the Global Workspace, on the navigation bar, click Tenant > Users.
-
In a project, on the navigation bar, click Security > Users.
More security around data access management
Visier has also implemented additional safeguards that further limit who can manage permissions, change user groups, and preview as other users. We recommend that you turn on this feature to ensure administrators cannot access additional data or give themselves a higher access level than they have been assigned.
If this feature is enabled, administrators will need access to all data, such as the Super Admin permission, to perform the following actions:
- Assign permissions.
- Create and edit permissions.
- Create and edit user groups.
- Create and edit data access sets.
- Create and edit security filters.
- Preview the solution as a user.